Setting Goals for the New Year

 

Sunny road ahead

Time flies and it is already the end of the year 2015. In a New Year, many people start to think about their New Year resolution. Are you one of them? Before you proceed to think about your New Year resolution, spend some time to reflect upon what you have done the past one year. What you have achieved and what you have missed? How can you do better next year? How did you get into financial woe and how are you going to get out of it? Do you have to make some adjustments to your lifestyle and habits to change the situation around? Is your relationship with your spouse or children strained? How are you going to salvage your relationship? These are some of the things that many of us need to reflect upon prior to setting new goals for the New Year.

Before you set goals for the New Year, remember to keep the following points in mind:

  1. Your goal should be achievable. It is going to back fire you if you set your goal too high. You may get discourage. However, if you set your goal too low, you need very little effort to achieve it. The challenge is absent.
  2. Your goal should be quantifiable. Instead of saying, ‘I will save more money’; say ‘I will set aside $200 a month for the down payment of my new house.’
  3. Your goal should be clearly written and displayed. Write out your goals clearly and display it where you could see daily. Have it pasted on the mirror or on the wall next to your desk help to act as a reminder. Recite your goals a few times a day. Inevitably, you will remember them effortlessly. Naturally, you will do things that would help you to achieve your goals.

Have you asked yourself these questions: Why am I born into this world? What is my purpose for being here on earth? Who am I? How am I going to live? I believe at some points in life most of us might have asked ourselves these questions. By asking ourselves these questions, it helps us to think about what we want to do with the remaining part of our life. Our past has become history. What you and I need to do is to look forward and live the way we want to. Do not live in the past and lament about what you have missed or regret. Just move on with life and be happy with whatever you have. There is no point looking back and think about the good old days. Life is not about looking back, rather it is about how to make the best of the remaining time we have on earth.

Do you know that many people are clueless about what they want in life? They went on with their daily activities just like everybody else. They are always following the norm and do what everyone is doing. They want to become successful and earn lots of money; live in big houses, drive expensive cars, wear branded labels and travel abroad for vocations a few times a year.  There is no end to insatiable desire. It is so true that even the wealthiest man, King Solomon said: ‘He who loves silver will not be satisfied with silver; nor he who loves abundance, with increase. This also is vanity.’ (Ecclesiastes 5:10 NKJV)

If you have high ambition, you will do everything to achieve that goal. However, if you are contented with whatever you are blessed with, be thankful that you have found contentment. There is opportunity cost that comes with success. You cannot have more time with your family when you want to build a multi-million corporation. There is always a trade-off somewhere. Be realistic and decide what you want to do with your life. Bear in mind the opportunity cost and do what you are passionate about without any regret. There is nothing more pathetic than to give up your passion and ambition for an unfulfilled life.

As for me, I have one simple goal in life; that is to be a good wife and a good parent to my children. I gave up my career and devote all my time to raising my children and take care of the household matters. I have spent more than half of my life time on my family. I am contented with living simply with no ambition to pursue. My purpose on earth is to be contented and happy raising my two children. They may not have high pay job or good grades in school; it does not matter. As long as they are healthy and happy, I have no complained.

Most of the time, my children are not at home. They are either out at work and in school; or meeting friends. I am thankful that they come home for dinner most of the days in a week. I choose to work part-time so that I have more time to cook for my children and spend time with them. We enjoy going places, watching movies and chatting with one other. I have learnt to do things alone when they are not with me. I get used to going places and spending time alone with myself. I have never got bored being alone as there are so many places to visit and things to do in the house. I have spent a fortune on my house; I should at least enjoy living in it and take care of it. It is nice to return home to a neat and clean house after a hard day’s work. My children are not shy to invite friends over whenever they want to. I am glad to be where I am today. I look forward to more good days in the future. I wish you also have a blessed and a blissful year ahead.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

